Pastor Troy George

Family Pastor

Introduction
A transplant from Oklahoma, and most recently Texas, Troy George joined us as our Family Pastor at the beginning of 2012.

Where were you born and raised?
I was born in and grew up in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

How large is the family you grew up in?
We had four in the family, my dad Phil, mom Joyce, sister Gay Lynn and me.

When and how did you come to know Christ?
I committed my life to Christ at age 8 in the Baptist Temple church in a Sunday morning service.

What was the first job you ever had?
I was a carhop at Coit's Drive-In in Oklahoma City.

Where did you go to college?
I went to Oklahoma State University and graduated with a degree in Business Management.

When and to whom did you get married?
Karen and I were married on September 1, 1984.

How many children do you have?
We have four children, David-24, Michael-22, Cindy-18, Tyler-17.

How did you get into ministry?
I was very involved in several ministries and God worked in my heart to convince me that doing this full-time was where I needed to go so I prayed with my wife in 1994 and we made the move to go to seminary at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth while I continued to work full-time.

Have you ever done any long- or short-term missionary work?
I have been overseas 11 times to places like Haiti, Brazil, China, Macedonia, India, and Africa. I love seeing God work all around the world and can't wait to go again!

Before coming to serve at First Baptist where else had you served?
I have served at First Baptist in Round Rock, Texas, Second Baptist in Conway, Arkansas, and Shindler Baptist in Jacksonville, Florida.

What do you like best about your job?
The people. The staff is a lot of fun and the church family is very loving which makes it a real joy to pastor here.

What's your favorite Bible verse?
Philippians 4:13- "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."

What do you like to do with your free time?
I enjoy sports so golf, disk golf, tennis, softball, volleyball and basketball are how I spend my free time.

Is there something about you that people would be surprised to learn?
I am an inventor, own a Hybrid car, but do not drink tea or coffee.